Media release

South Africa calls for journalists to enter the 2024 SADC Media Awards competition

08 January 2024

The South African media is invited to submit their entries for the 2024 SADC Media Awards competition in the four categories namely; Photo, Print, Television and Radio Journalism. The SADC Media Awards are open to journalists from the SADC Member States. The SADC Media Awards were established in 1996 to recognise best media work in disseminating information on SADC to support the process of regional co-operation and integration in the region. 

To promote regional integration and cooperation (cross-border issues), the awards aim to recognise excellence in journalism in the area of print, photo, television, radio as well as to encourage media practitioners in member states to cover issues pertaining to the region.

Journalists who wish to enter the competition can access more information about the competition from the and websites.

The entry form and the 2024 competition rules can be found on the links below: 

Entry Form: Entry form-English.docx_0.pdf (

Rules of the Competition:…

Entries need to be posted or delivered to MDDA or any GCIS office nationwide marked:

MDDA Offices                                          GCIS Offices
SADC Media Awards Entry      OR          SADC Media Awards Entry
GSM Building                                          Government Communications      
SABC Auckland Park Campus                1035 Francis Baard Street
Johannesburg                                         Hatfield, Pretoria
2006                                                         0028     

No entries must be submitted later than 29 February 2024.

For enquiries, please contact:
Ms. Mpho Phatudi
Cell: +27 79 605 2659

Issued by Government Communications

Share this page
Similar categories to explore