Media release

Government Communications invites entries for SADC media awards competition

03 December 2019

3 December 2019 

Launch of the 2020 SADC Media Awards Competition

The South African media are invited to submit their entries for the 2020 SADC Media Awards competition.

The Awards were established following a decision by the Council of Ministers in 1996 to establish a sector that deals with matters relating to amongst others, information, culture and sport. These awards serve as part of ensuring a link, coordination and synchronisation between formal structures of SADC governments, civil society, academia, labour and the media.

To promote regional integration and cooperation (cross-border issues), the awards aim to recognise excellence in journalism in the area of print, photo, television, radio as well as to encourage media practitioners in member states to cover issues pertaining to the region.

Journalists who wish to enter the competition can access more information about the competition from the and websites.

The forms and the 2020 competition rules can be found on the links below:
Competition rules:
Entries need to be posted or delivered to MDDA or  any GCIS office nationwide marked :

MDDA                                                                              GCIS Offices
SADC Media Awards Entry                 or                  SADC Media Awards Entry
MDDA – 1ST Floor                                                         Government Communications
5 St Davids Place                                                         1035 Francis Baard Street
Parktown, Johannesburg                                          Hatfield, Pretoria
2193                                                                                  0028      

All entries must be submitted not later than 28 February 2020.

For enquiries, please contact:
Mr Ayanda Hollow
Cell: 061 488 0634

Ms. Mmemme Mogotsi
Cell: 072 856 4288

Share this page
Similar categories to explore