Media release

Government Communications calls on journalists to enter 2023 SADC media awards

11 January 2023

The South African media are invited to submit their entries for the 2023 SADC Media Awards competition.

The SADC Media Awards are open to journalists from the SADC Member States. The first prize winners will receive their prizes and certificates on the margins of the SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government that will take place in August 2023.

The SADC Media Awards were established in 1996 to recognise best media work in disseminating information on SADC to support the process of regional co-operation and integration in the region.

To promote regional integration and cooperation (cross-border issues), the awards aim to recognise excellence in journalism in the area of print, photo, television, radio as well as to encourage media practitioners in member states to cover issues pertaining to the region.

The first prize winner in each category receives US$2,500 and the runner-up receives US$1000.

Journalists who wish to enter the competition can access more information about the competition from website.

The forms and the 2023 competition rules can be found on the links below:

Rules of Competition:

Competition Entry Forms:

Entries need to be posted or delivered to MDDA office or any GCIS office nationwide marked:

MDDA New Offices                                GCIS Offices

SADC Media Awards Entry       OR         SADC Media Awards Entry

GSM Building                                          Government Communications     

SABC Auckland Park Campus               1035 Francis Baard Street

Johannesburg                                         Hatfield, Pretoria

2006                                                        0028    

NB: All entries must be submitted no later than 28 February 2023.

Ayanda Hollow
Cell: 061 488 0634

Mmemme Mogotsi
Cell: 072 856 4288

Share this page
Similar categories to explore