Media release

Entries for 2016 SADC Media Awards and Water Awards competition are now open: 29 Feb 2016

10 December 2015

10 December 2015

Members of the media are invited to submit their entries for the 2016 SADC Media Awards Competition and the closing date for is 29 February 2016.

The SADC Media Awards were established in 1996 following a decision by the Council of Ministers to establish a sector that deals with matters relating to amongst others, information, culture and sport. These awards serve as part of ensuring a link, coordination and synchronisation between formal structures of SADC governments, civil society, academia, labour and the media.

The objectives are to promote regional integration and cooperation (cross-border issues) with the broader aim of recognising excellence in journalism in the area of print, photo, television, radio as well as to encourage media practitioners in member states to cover issues pertaining to the region.

The competition also consists of the Water Media Awards which are aimed at recognising stories that promote Integrated Water Resource Management (IWRM) in the SADC region. The competition has four categories namely; print photojournalism, television and radio.

Journalists who wish to enter the competition can access more information about the competition, including competition rules, from the GCIS website links:

Entries need to be posted or delivered to MDDA or GCIS offices marked:

SADC Media Awards Entry                 or                  

MDDA - 4th Floor
31 Princess of Wales Terrance
Parktown, Johannesburg

SADC Media Awards Entry
GCIS - Tshedimisetso House
1035 Francis Baard Street
Hatfield, Pretoria


Themba Sepotokele
Cell: 082 490 9869

Mmemme Mogotsi
Cell: 072 856 4288


Share this page
Similar categories to explore