Media release

Call for the 2024 SADC Media Awards Competition Entries

18 December 2023


The South African media is invited to submit their entries for the 2024 SADC Media Awards competition. The SADC Media Awards are open to journalists from the SADC Member States. The first prize winners will receive their prizes and certificates on the margins of the 44th SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government.

The SADC Media Awards were established in 1996 to recognise best media work in disseminating information on SADC to support the process of regional co-operation and integration in the region. The first prize winner in each category receives US$2,500 and the runner-up receives US$1000.

To promote regional integration and cooperation (cross-border issues), the awards aim to recognise excellence in journalism in the area of print, photo, television, radio as well as to encourage media practitioners in member states to cover issues pertaining to the region.

Journalists who wish to enter the competition can access more information about the competition from the and websites.

The entry form and the 2024 competition rules can be found on the links below:
SADC Entry Form  
2024 competition rules     

Entries need to be posted or delivered to MDDA or any GCIS office nationwide marked:

MDDA                                                                    GCIS Offices

SADC Media Awards Entry                 or               SADC Media Awards Entry

MDDA – 1ST Floor                                                Government Communications

5 St Davids Place                                                  1035 Francis Baard Street

Parktown, Johannesburg                                       Hatfield, Pretoria

2193                                                                       0028     


No entries must be submitted later than 29 February 2024.

For enquiries, please contact:
Ms. Mpho Phatudi
Cell: +27 79 605 2659

Share this page
Similar categories to explore