Media release

2017 SADC Media Awards and Water Awards competition: Call for entries

13 March 2017

11 March 2017

The South African media are invited to submit their entries for the 2017 SADC Media Awards Competition.

The Awards were established following a decision by the Council of Ministers in 1996 to establish a sector that deals with matters relating to amongst others, information, culture and sport. These awards serve as part of ensuring a link, coordination and synchronisation between formal structures of SADC governments, civil society, academia, labour and the media.

To promote regional integration and cooperation (cross-border issues), the awards aim to recognise excellence in journalism in the area of print, photo, television, radio as well as to encourage media practitioners in member states to cover issues pertaining to the region.

The competition also consists of the Water Media Awards which are aimed at recognising stories that promote Integrated Water Resource Management (IWRM) in the SADC region. The competition has four categories namely; print, photojournalism, television and radio.

Journalists who wish to enter the competition can access more information about the competition, including competition rules, from the GCIS website links:

The closing date is 20 March 2017

Entries need to be posted or delivered to GCIS offices marked:

SADC Media Awards Entry

1035 Francis Baard Street
Hatfield, Pretoria

Themba Thobela
Cell: 076 095 6555

Mmemme Mogotsi
Cell: 072 856 4288

Issued by: Government Communications

Share this page
Similar categories to explore