Media release

Government to honour communication excellence

29 November 2004

29 November 2004

On behalf of the South African government, Dr Essop Pahad, Minister in The Presidency and Government Communication and Information System (GCIS) political head will on 3 December 2004, acknowledge and honour communicators who have shown commitment, innovation and excellence in government communication. Communicators will be honoured at the annual Government Communicators' Awards (GCA) to be held at the Gallagher Estate in Midrand.

This year's Awards ceremony is the third such since the inaugural event was held in Johannesburg in 2002.

Irrespective of rank, communicators from all spheres of government, national, provincial and local, will be recognised for the work done between October 2003 and August 2004.

An independent panel drawn from representatives of the South African National Editors Forum (Sanef), the National Community Radio Forum (NCRF), the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) and the Chairperson of the Communications Portfolio Committee adjudicated this year's nominations and entries.

The Awards will be conferred in four categories: The National Bua Award; Provincial/Local Bua Award; National Ubungcweti Award; and Provincial/Local Ubungcweti Award. An overall Government Communicators of the Year is selected from all the entries received.

In attendance will be Ministers, Deputy Ministers, Directors-General, Heads of Communication, Ministerial Liaison Officers, sponsor representatives and members of the media.

Sputnik Ratau
Cell: 073 327 4893

Issued by: Government Communications (GCIS)


Share this page
Similar categories to explore