Media release

Ten Year anniversary celebrations closing ceremony

08 February 2005

8 February 2005

South Africans will be celebrating life at the official closing of the Ten Years of Freedom celebrations at the Athlone Stadium on Friday.

The eight-hour long event will follow President Thabo Mbeki's State of the Nation Address on the morning of the same day. It will be conveying the same message heard throughout the year-long celebrations, that we are a people united for a better South Africa and a better world.

In the afternoon, President Thabo Mbeki, Deputy President Jacob Zuma, Cabinet Ministers, Premiers, Cape Town Mayor, Nomaindia Mfeketo, and many other dignitaries will make their way to the venue. Once the Athlone Stadium is filled, guests will be directed to the Vygieskraal Stadium, which is the designated spill-over area. Vygieskraal Stadium is 800m away from the Athlone Stadium. A big screen has been mounted at the Vygieskraal Stadium, and will relay activities happening at the Athlone Stadium.

The celebrations will be in three parts, consisting of musical presentations by groups, the formal ceremony which includes an address by President Mbeki, followed by a cultural programme.

The groups performing are Heshoo Beshoo, The Rockets, Inadiflo, Mandisa Bardill, Brasse Vannie Kaap, Freshly Ground, Godessa Featuring Tebo and Mafikizolo. The artists performing are Yvonne Chaka Chaka, Vicky Sampson, Simphiwe Dana and Mxo, Jabu Khanyine, Jimmy Dludlu, Thandiswa Mazwai, Oliver Mtukudzi, Minga's, Arno Carstens, Allou April, Tshepo Tshola, Judith Sephuma and Sipho Mabuse.

There will also be a State of the Nation parade, an African dance, the Cape Town showcase, the African song dance (NEPAD) and Cape Jazz.

As host, the Mother City has been decorated with lamp posters bearing the 10 years logo and South African flag. These posters line the route from Cape Town International Airport to Parliament and across the Cape Flats.

For the event, the Department for Community Safety has 1 000 volunteers who will do duty and assist on the 295 buses that will make their way to the venue. 178 of these buses are from the Unicity, the rest will come from the Eden, Boland, Karoo, West Coast and Overberg districts. The buses will depart from the same position where they dropped off people.

Security will be strict. No firearms, alcohol, bottles and cameras will be allowed into the grounds. Klipfontein Road will be closed in front of Athlone Stadium.

SABC 2 will broadcast the celebrations live from 7:00pm until 11:00pm.


Sputnik Ratau
Cell: 082 440 6996

Colin Cruywagen
Cell: 082 377 9916

Clayton Wakeford
Cell: 082 827 8792

Gert Bam
Cell: 084 222 1242

Issued by: Government Communications (GCIS)


Share this page
Similar categories to explore