Media release

Appointment of SARB Board members

23 July 2004

23 July 2004

President Thabo Mbeki, after consultation with the Minister of Finance and members of the Board of the SA Reserve Bank, has decided to re-appoint Mr Tito Mboweni as Governor of the Bank for a period of five years.

The President has also appointed the following government representatives to the Board:

  • Professor Raymond Parsons of the Economics Department at the University of Pretoria; and
  • Mr Francois E Groepe, Chief Financial Officer of MEDIA 24.

Professor Vishnu Padayachee of the School of Development Studies at the University of KwaZulu-Natal is also a government representative on the Board, and his term was renewed last year.

The President wishes the Governor and all other members of the Board well in their service to the country.

Joel Netshitenzhe
Cell: 082 900 0083

Issued by: Government Communications (GCIS)


Share this page
Similar categories to explore