Media release

Call for entries to 2007 SADC Media Awards

06 February 2007

6 February 2007

The South African Chapter of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) Media Awards calls for entries from journalists and media practitioners to the 2007 SADC Media Awards Competition. It is open to journalists and media practitioners who are South African Nationals and can submit as many entries as possible.

The purpose of the SADC Media Awards is to honour excellence in journalism in the region. The awards are in the fields of Print, Radio, Television and Photojournalism.

The awards aim to promote regional cooperation and integration by encouraging journalists to improve their reporting and analysis of regional issues.

The awards worth USD $2,000 cash prizes in each of four categories seek to showcase particularly thoughtful, incisive, or creative reporting. Finalists will be selected from each SADC member state, with the overall winners chosen by a multinational panel of judges.

Entries will be judged on the quality of journalism and regional perspective. Only works published or broadcast by a recognised publication, broadcaster, or Internet news website between January and December 2006 are eligible.

The closing date for entries is 31 March 2007. For more information contact the National Adjudication Committee (NAC) Chairperson: Yusuf Abramjee (011) 5063470

Entry forms and the rules of the competition are available at Entries to be submitted to:

Yusuf Abramjee
Chair: National Adjudication Committee
Group Head: News and Talk Programming, Prime media broadcasting
PO Box 5572

Issued by: Government Communications (GCIS)

Share this page
Similar categories to explore