Media release

Statement on Cabinet meeting of 26 July 2006

27 July 2006

27 July 2006

Cabinet held its ordinary meeting on 26 July 2006, immediately before the mid- year July Lekgotla which concludes on Friday 28 July 2006. President Thabo Mbeki will brief the media on the outcomes of the Lekgotla on Sunday 30 July at 14h00 at the Union Buildings.

The Cabinet meeting approved the establishment of the South African Space Agency as an institutional vehicle for the co-ordination and implementation of South Africa 's national space science and technology programmes. The agency will conduct long-term planning and implementation of space-related activities in South Africa for the benefit of all citizens. It will coordinate its activities closely with the South African Council for Space Affairs and stakeholders, and will report to the Minister of Science and Technology.

Cabinet approved a request from the United Nations for South Africa to deploy two helicopters and fifty three personnel to the UN mission in the Democratic Republic of Congo. This is part of Government's commitment contribution to peace, stability and democracy in Africa.

A five-year Airlift Strategy was approved for the regulation of air transport to enhance the air transport sector's contribution to sustainable growth. The strategy promotes greater alignment with the tourism strategy in particular, and was developed on the basis of aviation policy directives and as a specific contribution to AsgiSA. It will promote the provision of adequate air service capacity and infrastructure to cater for the projected growth in air movements within South Africa and between South Africa and its key international partners.

The meeting was briefed on preparations for the 50 th Anniversary of the Women's March, and approved the following:

  • The establishment of a Women's Museum in Welkom
  • The erection of the Charlotte Maxeke's statue in Vereeniging
  • The declaration of Maxeke's House and the Wilberforce Institute as National Heritage sites
  • The reconfiguration of the Women's/ Vroue Monument in Bloemfontein
  • The replication of the Women's Monument at the Strydom Square . Cabinet also noted the renaming of Strydom Square to Lillian Ngoyi Square.

As South Africa pays tribute to the contribution of women to the struggle for freedom, government calls on all citizens to work together in a national effort to ensure that the rights and opportunities that freedom has brought are enjoyed to the full by all women.

Cabinet was briefed on the 2006 meeting of Directors and Data Managers of the World Health Organisation for Africa (WHO/AFRO) Regional Polio Laboratory Network which is being hosted by South Africa from 24 to 28 July 2006 in Pretoria.

The following appointments were approved or confirmed:

  • Mr Ramburuth as Commissioner of the Competitions Commission
  • Professor B M Gourley, Professor D R Hall, and Mr E M Mayet as members of the Board of the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR).
  • The following as members of the National Arts Council (NAC): Ms B Madumise, Mr N Lakha, Mr Z Bhengu, Professor D Bunn, Mr C Mabaso, Mr N Motsatse, Mr S Galane, Mr J Masilela, Ms D Forbes, Mr M Schonberg, Mr G van Zyl; Mr M Xakaza, Mr B Tembe and Mr Thathiah; with the following as provincial representatives: Ms P Bushula (Northern Cape), Prof PJN Zungu (KZN), Nr P Shai (Limpopo), Ms D Offringa (Gauteng), Ms MV Khutsafalo (North West), Prof B Mkhonto (Eastern Cape), Ms T Nogabe (Free State), Ms M Phosa (Mpumalanga) and Ms C Matthews (Western Cape).
  • Mr Sendwe as CEO of CIPRO
  • Assistant Commissioner Mashego as the Provincial Commissioner in the Free State Province
  • Mr Z Dangor as Chief Operations Officer in the Department of Social Development.

Themba J Maseko - Government Spokesperson
Cell: 083 645 0810

Issued by: Government Communications (GCIS)


Share this page
Similar categories to explore