2006 Government Communicators' Awards


Winners and runners-up

Government Communicator of the Year
Winner AAD Youth Programme
Department of Defence
National Bua Award
Winner AAD Youth Programme
Department of Defence
National Ubungcweti Award
Winner Nazeem Mahatey and staff of the Communications Research Services
The Presidency
Finalist Navy Diver Training/Recruiting video
SA Navy
Provincial/Local Bua Award
Winner Johanetta Clark
Eastern Cape Department of Health
Finalist Captain Julia Claassen
Communication and Liaison Service: Gauteng, SAPS
Provincial/Local Ubungcweti Award
Winner Donna van Staden
Uthungulu District Municipality
Finalist Tsekiso Mofokeng and Buyisile Mvelase
East Rand - South African Police Service (SAPS)
Finalist Communication Team
Department of Education, Mpumalanga

Photo gallery

Adjudication panel

  • Ms Amina Frense from South African National Editors’ Forum (Sanef) - Chairperson
  • GCIS Chief Director: Government and Media Liaison Mr Thabo Masebe
  • Ms Manana Monareng from the National Community Radio Forum (NCRF)
  • Mr Johann Koster from the National Association of Broadcasters (NABSA)
  • Ms Annette Griessell, Head of Communication in Gauteng. Provinces are represented on the panel on a two-year rotational basis.
  • Mr GG Oliphant, Acting Chairperson of the Communications Portfolio Committee.



South African Broadcasting Corporation

Mercury Media


Standard Bank