2002 Government Communicators' Awards



Government Communicator of the Year
  1. JJ Tabane
    Department of Environmental Affairs and Tourism
  2. Sipho Ngwema
    National Prosecuting Authority
National Bua Award
  1. Babs Naidoo
    Department of Water Affairs and Forestry
  2.  JJ Tabane
    Department of Environmental Affairs and Tourism
  3. Mbulelo Musi
    Department of Social Development
National Ubungcweti Award
  1. Director Shane van den Berg
    SAPS Communication and Liaison Services Section: Planning, Research and Marketing
  2. Nazeem Mahatey
    The Presidency
  3. Khanyo Gqulu
    Department of Minerals and Energy
Provincial/Local Bua Award
  1. Nondumiso Jafta
    SAPS Communication Unit in Umtata (Eastern Cape)
  2. Priscilla Pietersen
    Transport Department (Gauteng)
  3. Mary Kodisang
    Premier's Office (Free State)
Provincial/Local Ubungcweti Award
  1. David Adams
    Communications Directorate in the Premier's Office (Northern Cape)
  2. Kadija Richards
    Mangaung Municipality (Free State)
  3. Priscilla Pietersen
    Gauteng Transport Department

Photo gallery

Adjudication panel

  • Ms Amina Frense from South African National Editors’ Forum (Sanef) – Chairperson
  • GCIS Chief Director: Government and Media Liaison Mr Mdu Lembed
  • Ms Elelwani Raphunga from the National Community Radio Forum (NCRF)
  • Mr Johann Koster from the National Association of Broadcasters (NABSA)
  • Mr Phila Ngqumba, Head of Communication in the Eastern Cape. Provinces are represented on the panel on a two-year rotational basis.
  • Mr Nkeknke Kekana, Chairperson of the Communications Portfolio Committee



Birchwood Executive Hotel




Konica Minolta




South African Airways