Media release

Call for entries for 2013 SADC Media Awards and Water Media Awards competition

05 March 2013

5 March 2013

The South African chapter of the SADC Media programme has commenced with Government Communication and Information System (GCIS) inviting all media for entries to the 2013 SADC Media Awards competition.

The SADC Media Awards competition was established following a decision by the Council of Ministers in 1996 to establish a sector that deals with matters relating to amongst others, information, culture and sport. The awards serve as part of ensuring a link, coordination and synchronisation between formal structures of SADC governments, civil society, academia, labour and the media.

In pursuit of the promotion of regional integration and cooperation (cross-border issues), the awards aim to recognise excellence in journalism in the area of print, photo, television, radio as well as to encourage media practitioners in member states to cover issues pertaining to the region.

The competition also consists of the Water Media Awards which are aimed at recognising stories that promote Integrated Water Resource Management (IWRM) in the SADC region. The competition has four categories in print, photojournalism, television and radio.

The competition is administered by the National Adjudicating Committee (NAC) which is responsible for adjudicating in member states for submission to the Regional Adjudication Committee (RAC). The NAC is represented by media practitioners, journalists of different media houses as well as government officials.

Journalists who wish to enter the competition can access more information about the competition, including competition rules, from the GCIS website.

For enquiries, please contact:
Bongiwe Gambu
Cell: 082 714 9463

Issued by: Government Communication and Information System (GCIS)


Share this page
Similar categories to explore