

## Submissions, Presentations, Meetings

A call for submissions was advertised in 6 of the 11 official language in all major newspapers as well as through the electronic media.

The Task Group actively pursued submissions from a variety of stakeholders, structures and groupings. Individuals/groupings who sent in submissions; made oral presentations or met with the Task Group are listed below:

J.B. Pye

A. Kahane, Centre for Innovative Leadership

Manase Neo Sefathe (Gauteng Housing & Local government Ministry)

Sam Tsima

Gerald Miller

William Winnaar

Shupinyaneng

Mark Wilson

Prof. J.M. Maseko, Technikon Pretoria (Nelspruit Campus)

Ponsamy name illegible Signed: "Slave of the apartheid of

Swaziland"

Richard Yates

Mahlangu

Laka, President of Mamelodi, Boxing Administration

Jacob Modiwe

Malebe, RDP Masakhane

Ministries

MVS Mnguni

T Govender

M Sibanyoni

Northern Consultative Forum

GE Saddan Signed: "Afrikaner"

J Mayuso

**EC Simon** 

TJ Simdame

S Gumede, SACP Branch, Inanda, Newtown

I JEWIOWII

MP Moalosi

JIN Cloete, Emeritus Professor, Public Administration

P du Preez, du Preez Enterprises

Sonja Schmidt

Anthoni van Nieuwkerk, Foundation for Global Dialogue

CD Kneale

CJ du T Visser, PIERD Resources

Mike Webber

Elna Cronje

RM Cillie, Department of Arts, Culture, Science & Technology

MVS Mnguni

PH Stapelberg

**GP Pretorius** 

T. Dudley

**M** Lawrence

DA Celbekhulu, Orange Farm Information Centre

JH Van Deventer, Chief Executive: Newspapers Nasionale Pers

D Hlatshwayo, Kwa-Thema Township CV van der Merwe, Department of Environmental & Cultural Affairs

TA Mathibe

T Mangena

LA Rushby, UCT Libraries, Government Publications Department

HI Moran, Director: Libraries, Durban Municipal Library

JP Driver-Jowitt

**IJ** Bester

G Subramoney

**BV Peter** 

KJ Knowler

MD Mill, MD, The Holding Company

Soul City (Institute of Urban Primary Health Care)

ND Chotoo

NG Hulley, Head, Provincial Communications Services, Northern Province

Pat Rogers Public Relations

R Kutama

Sally Timmel, School of Economics, UCT

Greater JHB Transitional Metro.
Council: Comm. Services

R Muller

Media & Broadcasting Consultants

Management Information Services Treasury: Greater JHB Metro. Council

R Reddy

G Perry

B Tshabalala

J Winter

L Bekker, Electronic Law Publication

Public Relations Institute of SA (PRISA)

SACS - Gauteng Provincial Office

Office of the Chairperson, Western Region District Council

E Cape Provincial government

Learn & Teach Publications Trust

National Community Radio Forum (NCRF)

Western Region District Council

H.T. Nteanyani

Northern Cape Legislature

National Association of

**Broadcasters** 

John Hall, National Peace Accord

Kate Wild, IDRC

lvy Matsepe-Casaburri, SABC

Stephen Laufer, Business Day

Julian Bird, SAPA

JP Louw, Karen Thorne, Chris Gutuza, Lumko Mtimde, NCMF

Clive Emdon, IMDT

Richard Webb (UK)

Sandy Mackie, Director for Management Information Services in the Northwest Province

Robin Mcgregor

Prof. Bonganjalo Goba

Dennis Mashabela

Prof Wiseman Nkuhlu (DBSA)

AAA

**PRISA** 

NITF

**Defence Secretariat** 

Black Journalists Group

South African Communciation Service (SACS)

Channel Africa

SAUI

Professor Guy Berger (Department of Journalism, Rhodes University)

Independent Newspapers

Black Editors Forum

Conference of Editors

Nasionale Pers

Black Sash Advice Office

**MWASA** 

Foreign Correspondents' Association

Freedom of Expression Institute

Print Media Association

Moeletesi Mbeki

**CSIR** 

Sached Trust/Upbeat Magazine

**READ** 

Department of Health and Disabled Peoples' NGO's

Speaker of Parliament

Government Media Liaison Officers

Portfolio Committee on Communications

**Democratic Party** 

Dr Bernie Fanaroff, RDP Office

Chief Management of the Department of Foreign Affairs

Constitutional Assembly

Ministry of Safety and Security (Peter Gastrow)

Deputy Minister to the Deputy President, Dr Essop Pahad

Meeting with Communications
Director from the President's Office

The Postmaster General

Mr Carl Niehaus of the ANC Times Media Limited

Eastern Cape News Agency (ECNA)

Media Research Consultant, Sweden

De Witt Coetzee (Department of Public Service & Administration)

Michael Zulu

E.L. Ndlovu

Mpumulanga provincial communications officials

Kwa-Zulu Natal Provincial Communication Forum

Free State provincial government and private sector

Northwest Communciation Service

Scarborough Publications International

Joint Provincial Government Submission

Multi-Choice Africa

Institute for the Advancement of Journalism

lan Dewar, Community
Communications and network
systems

Heloise Emdon, social specialist

Meetings with provincial communications officials and NGO's in all nine provinces

ANC Electronic Information Unit

Interdepartmental Liaison Forum

National Department of Agriculture

Mr Robin McGregor was commissioned to do additional research and two subsequent reports were produced entitled: The Control of Black Business and Suppliers of Consumables to the Print Media: Distribution of Newspapers and Magazines.

R. Gibson of Editors Inc.

Dave Allen

Departmental Liaison Officers