

Land surface area

1 219 602 km²

Key economic sectors

Mining services and transport, energy, manufacturing, tourism and agriculture.

Population

 Total
 55,91 million

 Male
 27,38 million (49%)

 Female
 28.53 million (51%)

Official languages

English, isiZulu, isiXhosa, isiNdebele, Afrikaans, Siswati, Sepedi, Sesotho, Setswana, Tshivenda and Xitsonga.

Currency

Rand (ZAR) – 100 cents equals one rand.

Time

GMT +2 hours

Government

Constitutional multiparty democracy, with three spheres – local, provincial and national government.

Capitals

Pretoria (administrative); Cape Town (legislative); Bloemfontein (judicial). The Constitutional Court is located in Johannesburg.

Provinces

Eastern Cape, Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, Northern Cape, North West and Western Cape.

Transportation

Excellent roads, rail and air facilities (both domestic and international). Public transport in major cities include the Gautrain between Johannesburg and Pretoria, and the Bus Rapid Transport System in major cities.

Telecommunications

World-class infrastructure. Internet access is widely available. There are five mobile (cellular) networks.

Health

Top-quality public and private healthcare is available throughout the country. Malaria precautions are necessary in some areas.

Sources: Mid-year Population Estimates, 2016 and (Census 2011 Stats SA).

For more information, visit www.southafrica.info and www.gov.za