



Media release – 21 May 2013

MDDA-Sanlam Local Media Awards finalists announced

The MDDA and Sanlam have announced the finalists for the MDDA-Sanlam Local Media Awards following the conclusion of judging. The winners will be announced at a gala event to present the Awards this Friday, 24th May 2013, at Birchwood Hotel and OR Tambo Conference Centre in Boksburg.

"The judging panels for both the print and radio sections have prepared their reports and these reports will be available at the end of the Awards presentation," says Media Development and Diversity CEO, Mr Lumko Mtimde. "We look forward to presenting the Awards and we hope that these Awards will continue to demonstrate our commitment to recognising and celebrating excellence in the local media sector. Well done to all entrants and congratulations to the finalists."

Sanlam Group Head of Communications, Mr Ainsley Moos has lauded the entrants for participating. "We wish to thank all the participants who have taken their time to enter for the Awards. It is from their participation that there can be robust competition and recognition of the best. We wish to congratulate the finalists," says Moos.

The finalists are as follows:

PRINT FINALISTS

	AWARD	Finalists
1	WRITING AWARDS	
	Hard News:	
		Desireé Rorke (Tygerburger, Milnerton)
		Daleen Naudé (Middelburg Observer)
		Avuyile Mngxitama-Diko (Grocott's Mail)
	Investigative Journalism:	
		Susanna Oosthuizen (Lowvelder)
		Landé Willemse (Lowvelder)
		Christopher De Wet (Lowvelder)
		Lizeka Tandwa (Zithethele Community
		News)
	Human Interest	
		Abrie Bronkhorst (Potchefstroom Herald)

AWARD	Finalists
7.007.00	Faatimah Hendricks (Table Talk)
	Susan Maré (Vrystaat)
Sport	
	Christopher de Wet (Lowvelder)
	Quintin van Jaarsveld (East
	London/South Coast Fever)
	Daryn Wood (Algoa Sun)
Columns	
	Cathy Stagg (Cape Community
	Newspapers)
	Taralyn McLean (Go & Express)
	Mahmood Sanglay (Muslim Views)
Personal Finance	(7.11.7.11)
	Clement Deane (Table Talk)
	Yaseen Gaffar (Middelburg Observer)
Photography	Bev Mortimer (St. Francis Chronicle)
Photography	
News	Herman Steyn (<i>Die Pos/The Post</i>)
I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I	Lynda Greyling (Maluti)
	Yolandi Nel (<i>Streeknuus</i>)
Sport	rotation (our continues)
	Mario van de Wall (Potch Herald)
	Joe Dreyer (Lowvelder)
	Rashied Isaacs (People's Post)
Features and Portraits	
	Herman Steyn (Die Pos/The Post)
	Carina Roux (Tygerburger)
	Gabriela Falanga (Eden Express)
Press Photographer of the Year	
l Cai	Herman Steyn (Die Pos/The Post)
	Carina Roux (<i>Tvaerburaer</i>)
	Joe Dreyer (Lowvelder)
Journalist of the Year	(2000)
	Gerhard Rheeder (Middelburg
	Observer)
	Daleen Naude (Middelburg Observer)
	Abrie Bronkhorst (Potch Herald
O NEWODADED AND ADDO	
2 NEWSPAPER AWARDS BEST FRONT PAGES:	
Community/Grassroots	
Media:	
	The Eye News, <i>Polokwane</i>
	Ikamva Lase Gcuwa, Butterworth
Independent emerging	
newspapers (2-5 years):	

	AWARD	Finalists
	Emerging	
		Titimuleni Nthavela
		EzaKwaZulu
		Zithethele
	Independent established	
	newspapers (more than 5	
	years): Established	
	Established	Ziwaphi
		Muslim Views
		EzaKwazulu
	Corporate-owned Free	Lzartwazuiu
	Sheets	
		Tygerburger, Milnerton
		Corridor Gazette, Nelspruit
		Sedibeng Ster, Vanderbijlpark
	Corporate-owned Paid	
	papers:	
		Doort Doort
		Paarl Post, <i>Paarl</i> Lowvelder, <i>Nelspruit</i>
3	BEST NEWSPAPERS:	Lowvelder, iveispruit
<u> </u>	COMMUNITY/GRASSROOTS:	
	COMMONT I/CRASSRSSTS	Ikamva Lase Gcuwa, Butterworth
		The Eye News, <i>Polokwane</i>
4	INDEPENDENT EMERGING	The Lye Hewe, Felenmane
	(2-5 YEARS)/INDEPENDENT	
	ESTABLISHED (5 YEARS	
	PLUS)	
	Finalists (Established 2-5	Zithethele, Nelson Mandela Bay
	years):	
		Tame Times, Alberton/Joburg South
	Finalists (Established 5	Grocott's Mail, Grahamstown
	years+):	Footom Cons Today Foot Lander
		Eastern Cape Today, East London
-	Corporate owned Free	Witzenberg Herald, Ceres
	Corporate-owned Free Sheets:	
		Steelburger/Lydenburg News,
		Lydenburg
		Kalahari Bulletin, Upington
		South Coast Fever, Port Shepstone

Category	Station/Entrant /Finalist
Best Community Radio	Radio Riverside
	Emalahleni FM
	Namaqualand FM (NFM)
Excellence in Investigative Journalism	Emalahleni FM (Charles Magagula)
	Radio Khwezi
	Aganang
Excellence in Indigenous Language	Vukani Community Radio
	Motheo FM
	Namaqualand FM (NFM)
	Radio Pulpit
Excellence in In-depth Coverage and	Radio Khwezi
Current Affairs	Radio Riverside
	Radio Islam

ends

Issued by:

MDDA: 011 643 1100 / 078 800 8161

Sanlam Group Communications: 021 947 2512

For further information please contact:

Nkopane Maphiri, MDDA Program Director at 083 644 9342, www.mdda.org.za and

Pearl Majola, SANLAM at 083 286 7476 pearl.majola@sanlam.co.za