

SOUTHERN AFRICAN DEVELOPMENT COMMUNITY SECRETARIAT

Private Bag 0095 Gaborone Botswana E-mail: registry@sadc.int
Website: www.sadc.int

Telephone: Telefax:

(267) 3951863 (267) 3972848 (267) 3181070

2008 SADC MEDIA AWARDS COMPETITION

The SADC Secretariat announces the launch of the 2008 SADC Media Awards and the SADC Water Media Awards Competitions. Entries are invited for both competitions in the fields of Print Journalism, Radio Journalism, Television Journalism and Photojournalism.

Rules of the competition

- a) The entries should have been published/ broadcast between January and December the year preceding the awards (2007) by a registered and/or authorised media house or agency or carried on a website of a registered and/or authorised media house or agency in any of the SADC Member States;
- b) The themes of the entries to be submitted for the competition must be related to issues and activities promoting Regional Integration in the SADC region;
 - (i) The entries to be submitted must be related to issues and activities promoting Regional Integration in the SADC Region.
 - (ii) The entries to be submitted on the SADC Water Media Award must be related to issues and activities promoting the Integrated Water Resource Management (IWRM) in the SADC region, using the IWRM approach adopted by Member States.
- c) All journalists who are SADC nationals may enter the competition, except those in institutions contracted by SADC and the SADC Secretariat staff;
- d) All works entering the competition should be in one of the SADC working languages, i.e. English, Portuguese and French and they should be submitted as they were published / broadcast (newspaper cuttings, **website addresses**, magazines, audio or video cassettes);
- e) Entries are invited from the following categories:
 - i) Print Journalism: comprising features/articles published in newspapers; newsletters; website;
 - ii) Radio Journalism: comprising broadcast material;
 - iii) **Television Journalism**: comprising televised material;

Member States:

Angola Botswana République Démocratique du Congo Lesotho Madagascar Malawi Mauritius Moçambique

Namibia South Africa Swaziland Zambia Zimbabwe

United Republic of Tanzania

- iv) **Photojournalism**: comprising published pictures with a caption or text;
- > Print Journalism submissions should have a minimum of 600 (six hundred) words and a maximum of 2000 (two thousand) words.
- Broadcast or televised materials should have a minimum duration of five minutes and a maximum duration of thirty minutes and all Broadcast material should be accompanied by a transcript in any of the three SADC languages.
- f) All entries must be submitted to the National Adjudication Committee by 30 March 2008;
- g) The monetary prizes will be accompanied by a certificate signed by the SADC Chairperson;
- h) The National Entries will be initially screened and judged by the National Adjudication Committee, which will select the best entry in each of the four categories to be forwarded to the Regional Adjudication Committee, **through the SADC Secretariat**;
- i) The selection of the best regional works will be decided upon by the Regional Adjudication Committee;
- j) The Regional Adjudication Committee reserves the right not to award the prizes if the works submitted do not meet the competition requirements;
- k) The decision of the Regional Adjudication Committee shall be final;
- The winners will be announced and the prizes awarded at a ceremony to take place on the occasion of the SADC Summit of the Heads of State and Government;
- m) The Awards will include Print, Radio, Television and Photo journalism and each category carries a prize of **US\$2000**.
- The prizes will be paid directly to the winner. In the case of a winner being unable to be present at the ceremony, SADC will make arrangements to give the prize in his/her home country;
- All submissions must contain full contact details of the journalist/media practitioner, including, passport-sized photograph, physical address, telephone and, where applicable, fax number and e-mail address;

Further details may be obtained from the National Adjudication Committee in each Member State.

SADC Secretariat shall not be responsible for any loss of or damage to the work or material submitted.

Member States:

Angola Botswana République Démocratique du Congo Lesotho Madagascar Malawi Mauritius Moçambique Namibia South Africa Swaziland United Republic of Tanzania

Zambia Zimbabwe