

South Africa at a glance

Land surface area

1 219 602 km²

Key economic sectors

Mining services and transport, energy, manufacturing, tourism and agriculture.

Population

Total Male Female 52 982 000

25 823 300 (49%) 27 158 700 (51%)

Official languages

English, isiZulu, isiXhosa, isiNdebele, Afrikaans, Siswati, Sesotho sa Leboa, Sesotho, Setswana, Tshivenda and Xitsonga.

Currency

Rand (ZAR) - 100 cents equals one rand.

Time

GMT +2 hours

Government

Constitutional multiparty democracy, three spheres (local, provincial and national).

Capitals

Pretoria (administrative); Cape Town (legislative); Bloemfontein (judicial). The Constitutional Court is located in Johannesburg.

Provinces

Eastern Cape, Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, Northern Cape, North West and Western Cape.

Transportation

Excellent roads, rail and air facilities (both domestic and international). Public transport in major cities include the Gautrain between Johannesburg and Pretoria and the Bus Rapid Transport System in Cape Town, Johannesburg and Pretoria.

Telecommunications

World-class infrastructure. Internet access is widely available. There are four mobile (cellular) networks.

Health

Top-quality healthcare is available throughout the country, although only basic in rural areas. Inoculations are only required for those travelling from yellow-fever areas. Malaria precautions are necessary in some areas.

Sources: Mid-year Population Estimates, 2013 and (Census 2011 Stats SA).

For more information, visit www.southafrica.info and www.gov.za