

Annexure 1: List of organisations and institutions consulted

Community media

National Community Media Forum National Community Radio Forum Open Window Network Sangonet

Civil society organisations

Communication Workers Union Congress of South African Trade Unions Easy Reading for Adults Initiative Freedom of Expression Institute Media Monitoring Project Media Workers Association of SA National Electronic Media Institute of South Africa Rural Development Services Network SA NGO Coalition SA Union of Journalists

Commercial media

Caxton Publishers and Printers Limited Digital Interactive Media Association Independent Newspaper Group **INet-Bridge** Johnnic Publishing Kagiso Broadcasting Kagiso Media Kagiso Trust Investments Mafube Publishers Mail & Guardian Media 24 (Subsidiary of Naspers) MidiTV(eTV) **MNet** Nasnuus Naspers New Africa Media/New Africa Investments Limited Primedia Broadcasting Sowetan **Times Media Limited**

Industry-based organisations

Association of Advertising Agencies Association of Marketers Development Bank of Southern Africa Freedom of Commercial Speech Trust Independent Producers Organisation Independent Publishers Association of SA National Association of Broadcasters

National Television and Video Association Marketing Industry Trust Print Media SA SA National Editor's Forum South African Advertising Research Foundation **Government departments** Department of Arts & Culture, Science & Technology Department of Communications Department of Education **Department of Finance** Department of Justice (State Law Adviser) Department of Trade and Industry Policy Coordination and Advisory Service in the Presidency Regulatory authorities, non-statutory and statutory bodies Advertising Standards Authority Broadcasting Complaints Commission of South Africa Commission for Gender Equality **Competitions Commission** Human Rights Commission Independent Broadcasting Authority and the SA Telecommunications Regulatory Authority (now the Independent Communications Authority of SA) National Film and Video Foundation PanSA Language Board Parliamentary Portfolio Committee on Communications Press Ombudsman Sentech South African Broadcasting Corporation South African Broadcasting Corporation - training Grant-making organisations Friedrich Ebert Stiftung Heinrich Boll Stiftung Independent Media Diversity Trust Kgaso Fund **Open Society Foundation** Unesco SA Universities and technikons Peninsula Technikon

Potchefstroom University Rhodes University Technikon Natal Technikon Pretoria University of the North-West Unisa

Other

Sean Jacobs GF Joubert South African Communist Party Thornton & Morris Attorneys (T&M) Moeletsi Mbeki (Endemol Productions SA (Pty) Limited)